Moving The World Perpetually

…with what others think of you, but instead be concerned with what you think of yourself. (Things I learned in Yoga)

 (read more below)

About two weeks ago, I began my journey towards mind and body balance. I tried out a real yoga class and absolutely fell in love with it. Right before we start the class, we enter a dark room and set our mats on the floor. We lay on our backs, palms facing up in Shavasana (corpse) pose. We begin and end our class with this pose.

I noticed that I started coming to different realizations. It’s only been a few classes, but I am already learning many things from yoga.

I noticed that the yoga class is a judgement free zone. I would normally be a bit insecure when entering a gym environment. I will admit, I don’t know how to use a lot of that equipment and I feel silly being around it. Yoga is simple and you don’t need many things to practice it. And once you enter the class, the only focus is on yourself. Everyone is on a personal journey, and we all struggle with poses, all sweat, all come back over and over again.

I’m starting to be more comfortable with who I am and not worry so much what others think. External opinion will change; it’s like a pendulum, you will be loved and you will be hated. The important thing is that you love yourself internally and keep to it always.

Any comments for discussion on this topic are welcome! 🙂

Love,

Volta

Comments on: "Do not concern yourself…" (5)

  1. I started practicing yoga ever so many years ago as a four year old. It was my grandfather who taught me the yoga skills he considered basic: the handstand, the plow, the lotus and the sun prayer. It has been a long journey since then, I actually wrote a novel about both my grandfather and his practice of yoga and what it represented for both of us. Far from resolving all conflict yoga lead me deeper into the heart of it – which by now I am sure is the only way to eventually find a way through. Yoga for me has been a source of insight as much as of pain and doubt and my relationship to yoga is still unresolved many years after my grandfather’s passing. Recently I have discontinued the practice of the plow because of alarming medical reports about the pose. I am however still intrigued by the practice after all these years and about the fact that you never “get it right”, you just continue your path stubbornly, gently, fiercely – depending on your own temperament.

    • OléVolta said:

      Wow! What an incredible story! I am interested in finding out where yoga takes me, I know it is a journey and every day I notice something new about the practice.
      I would love to read your book, where can I find it?
      I have not ventured into the most difficult poses and perhaps won’t do so for a while.
      What kind of yoga have you practiced mostly? the one we do at the studio is hot yoga, and while challenging, it makes me feel incredibly good afterwards.
      Thank you for such a lovely comment!

      • I am always so interested when I find that someone is somewhat touched by the practice of Yoga. It can happen the first time one engages in it – and I think that one of the main lessons I have taken to heart is that it is not necessarily a journey of linear progression from beginner to advanced but if one allows yoga to happen right in the center of oneself where such concepts are senseless. We are never beginners or advanced in the skill of living, every day required a renewed humility, gentleness and compassion. Who says we can not learn from a newborn or the very feeble?
        My grandfather mainly taught me asanas in the hatha-yoga tradition, but he was striving to regard hatha just as part of his wider practice of raja yoga. My novel will hopefully be available in English translation in a few years. The original is called “Nachtwachen” and is a German novel.
        Thank you for your lovely response and interest! I am looking forward to your posts and loved the tree pose!

  2. Loved this post. Your notecard reminder is so wise and so necessary to remind ourselves.

    • OléVolta said:

      Thank you so much! you are so kind! Yoga is incredible and I can’t wait to see what else I learn from it. My goal though, is to adopt all these lessons into my own life and be more confident when I deal with people/jobs/presentations in real life. 🙂

Leave a Reply

