Moving The World Perpetually

 Oftentimes, we focus too much on the outcome, the completion of a goal without paying much respect to the tiny steps that went in between. Those small victories, they count. And they need to be recognized.

I’m actually scared of driving on the huge freeways in Dallas, and I’m ok with admitting it. Sometimes I get on a highway for a few minutes and I conquer that fear little by little. And it feels good, knowing that I am working on this, that it will take several more attempts on the highways before I become comfortable with it. It will take time and that’s ok. 🙂

Those small victories make it all worthwhile and easier to deal with.

I hope you take some time and celebrate the small victories you’ve accomplished. 🙂 I would love to hear about them in the comments section, if you are willing to share.

PS: I decided to do my own spin on the Winged Victory, giving her some colors to play with. 😉

Love and Namaste,

Volta

___

Facebook page

G+ page

Comments on: "Celebrate small victories." (7)

  1. This drawing is beautiful! I live in South Florida and avoid the highways. I’ve never been very comfortable driving on them.

  2. At some point I realized that I needed to overcome my fear of highways or else I would be stuck. Not driving highways in my case was a symbol for my accepting certain gender limits that I needed to transcend in order to go on with my life after the unwanted end of my marriage. At that point I lived in new Jersey in the vicinity of New York City, in a knot and cluster of highways and outdated traffic signs. Driving time from my house to the city was to take not more than 40 minutes in light traffic. I decided to drive right into Manhattan, using the Holland Tunnel to enter Manhattan, driving all the way up to the George Washington Bridge and back home. It took me the better part of the day to accomplish all of it, in between I stopped in suburban strip mall parking lots and cried – just to start out again. It took me almost four hours to even find my way into the city, at some point I got lost in Newark, I was sweat drenched and found myself utterly pathetic. But I pushed on – and eventually I emerged from that tunnel and drove into the city with a sense of true accomplishment. With two law degrees to my name I never quite experienced such a strong sense of victory and freedom, and I truly knew that nothing could stop me if I set my mind to it. I have since driven countless miles, highways, navigated my way through major cities including wonderful, mad Paris – but this first time was like breaking through the sound barrier – fully aware how mundane and small this accomplishment might have been for others. I still have to overcome many obstacles and sometimes I feel like crying in suburban parking lots (and I do) – but I claim that victory as one of the more important ones in my life. Overcoming your own fears and pushing into the zone of actual personal discomfort is an important step towards freedom.
    Thank you for sharing! Kristina

    • OléVolta said:

      Wow! Kristina, I had no idea that there would be others who knew exactly what I went through. I’ve been in quite a few car wrecks, none of which were my fault, so I feel like even if I am a really good driver, it doesn’t matter. It’s been a while since my last one and I think I have gotten more comfortable with driving anyway. Oh boy…do I understand your fear of those crazy highways!

      And I know exactly what you mean…you get so scared but you push on anyway, and then the feeling you get from overcoming that internal fear is absolutely priceless. There’s nothing like it! The sense of freedom and achievement…incredible!

      Thank you so much for sharing your fear with me. We can do this! we can overcome! 😀 Much love and namaste!

      • I completely agree, so often it’s more a question of chance, of seconds in this lane and not that, of trash on the highway, missing, faded or broken traffic signs (New Jersey), tired commuters, people on their phones driving at high speed, trucks … when I read your post I had to laugh out loud – small victories indeed! Glad that you can relate to this, still sounds a bit dramatic and funny even to my own ears, but here you have it. To small victories!

Leave a Reply

